THE REST AND RUN ARGUMENT

I chanced upon a question on google that goes like this: Is it advisable to have a short run the day after a long run to promote muscle recovery? Then work in the rest day later in the week?

I was amazed at the answers.

1. After a long run, I like to go out for a 4-5 mile run the next day to get the blood flowing and speed recovery up. If I sit around the day after a long run, I tend to get a little more sore and stiff.
2. Cross train easily the day after a long run because it will use your running muscles enough to help them recover without beating them up in the same way that you do in long runs.
3. Most people benefit from rest, so I don’t even recommend cross-training.
4. I like to do a short run the day after a long run. Through trial-and-error, I’ve found it helps me recover better than complete rest.

That’s something, huh. It’s a living testimony that each runner is different. As unique as the way your feet glides while other’s bounce. As for me, rest is more beneficial. A day’s rest after a long run, and i could go straight to speed work-out after. I wonder what’s yours? 🙂 Feel free to comment and

add your ideas here.

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

