I WANT TO RUN FAST TOO

I want to run fast too…But…
Not as fast as the animals of the Havana,
Not as fast as lightning,
Not as fast as the blink of an eye,
Not as fast as the Tarahumara Indians,
Not as fast as Natz, nor Pat nor Dennis,
Not as fast as the elites,
Not as fast as a txt message,
Not as fast as the weather changes.

For now…

I have lots of other plans still.

I want to try out the Newton shoes.
I want to try another TRAIL LSD.
I want to try another MIDNIGHT run.
I want to try another fast-paced 16kms.
I want to try wearing a Garmin 305.
I want to try a long run of 7 hours.
I want to try barefoot race in the sand.
I want to try running up a climb.

But again, these are just wants. I wish to focus on what I need now.

I need to run faster. How I will do this, or how I will be able to accomplish this is the question. I might have to ask the experts.

Expert #1: Develop the Fast Twitch muscle fibers – for explosive speed and quickness. How?

Expert #2: Perform Isometrics. Its all about conditioning the specific muscle fibers that cause your muscles to contract quickly and powerfully. This type of conditioning will result in you being able to run faster, and with greater speed and agility and balance. How?

Expert #3: Modify your Approach to Speed Training. How?

Expert #4: Increase your Turnover. Try Interval Work-Outs. Do Tempo RUN once a week. Try Steep Hill Training.

Wow. I’m amazed at how some people would go just to get the ‘speed’. I guess I’d have to make a concrete plan as advised by Expert #4.

* Increase my Turn.Over…the old 3 strides per meter increased to 5?

* Interval Work-Outs.

If you’re running on the road instead of a track, you can use lamp posts or telephone poles to mark your intervals. After warming-up, try sprinting for two lamp posts, then recover for two, and keep repeating the pattern until you’ve covered a mile.

That makes a lot of sense to me…

* Tempo Run Once a Week.

Tempo runs help you develop your anaerobic threshold, which is critical for running faster. To do a tempo run, start your run with 5 to 10 minutes of easy running, then continue with 15 to 20 minutes of running near your 10K pace. Finish with 5 to 10 minutes of cooling down. Your 10K pace is your comfortable pace that’s hard to sustain, but sustainable.

* Hill Training.

Hill repeats are an efficient way to build running strength. Find a fairly steep hill that’s about 100 meters long. Run hard to the top of the hill, and slowly jog back down. Start with 3 to 4 repeats once a week, and gradually work your way up to 6 to 7 repeats.

That’s a lot of hard work ahead.
That’s a lot of sweat.

I hope I could keep up and accomplish this plan. By God’s grace, I will.

25 responses

  1. Nice post, Pojie!

    let’s do another LSD trail, bro. i suggest we go to Ciudad Real, malapit lang, even nearer than Parawagan and the trails are awesome!

    if you want, we can set it up.

    1. Cge, Rene. Let’s set up one date for Ciudad Real.

      July 26 kaya? hmmm

  2. poj, what’s easy running pace? is that the 7-7.30min / Km pace? for now, my 10K comfortable pace is 6min/Km. Is that okay for a tempo run?

    very informative post, bro! =)

  3. gingerbreadrunning | Reply

    Very nice coach. I likeyy πŸ™‚

    Anywayyy…..

    I’ll quote this. – I want to try wearing a Garmin 305.

    And….

    Would you like to run Milo 42k with one? πŸ™‚ Just yes and it will happen πŸ™‚

  4. gingerbreadrunning | Reply

    DONE! πŸ˜€

    1. Wow bait ni luis! Pwede ako rin?

  5. Coach Pojie, I know you don’t wanna be as fast as I am, but I KNOW you want to be faster than me and anybody else!!!

    I think you’re the most experienced and wisest runner among us here, so you should have no problem training yourself to become a faster runner πŸ™‚

  6. Hey Mar! Ikaw na yung isa sa may pinakamalaking (read: more than sufficient) base mileage sa group. Strength development (hill training) at speed workouts (intervals and tempo) lang ang katapat niyan.

    Napansin ko lang, para sa ating mga walang Garmin, mas ok mag-intervals sa track kasi ma-c-calculate mo yung exact pace/time mo.

    With regards to turnover–it’s not as simple as increasing the absolute number of strides per meter; rather, running efficiency, in part, is dictated by the combination of both turnover and stride length.

    Quoted from Milo: “Kaya mo ‘yan!” Good luck! πŸ™‚

    Singit lang @Rod: You may want to try the RW pace calculator to help plan your tempo pace: http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?UAN=1676

    See you on Sunday! πŸ˜€

    1. Hi Mar/ Doc,
      Do the 180 strides per minute practice, it will propel you forward fast and efficiently and do the yasso800s.

    2. Thanks, Doc Eric. I really advocate the ‘base build-up’ muna kc to make sure I have all the stamina and endurance I will need when the time comes to train for speed. And here it is now.

  7. There are number of plyometric exercises specific for running, I could send you some if you want. And remember, all of the above are achievable if you just believe, better start now. No pain, no gain.
    See you at the starting line.

    1. Please send me some, Vener. Thanks. I appreciate it.

      1. What’s your e-mail add?

  8. Hi Pojie. Vener beat me to the punch on the strides. A couple of months ago, I started incorporating them into the interval workouts and the times have come down considerably. Believing is important and running is more mental than physical.

    Hope it’s okay if I add you to my blogroll. Take care and have a good weekend!

    1. Sure, Wayne…I’d be honored to see my site in your blogroll.

  9. Hi Coach!
    I want to add

    I want to run fast but
    Not as fast as a speeding bullet not a cheetah running in savanna
    But I want to run free of injuries and a time that I deserve.

    Nice thought coach!

  10. yes. i want all that too

  11. Wow special mention (How I wish I was really that fast πŸ™‚ )

    I want to try wearing a Garmin 305.
    > Why didn’t you say so Coach, I can lend it to you (is 5 seconds enough? hehe)

    I want to try a long run of 7 hours.
    > When do you want? Game.

    I know you can do it Coach, and we’re here to support and help. See ya on Milo!

  12. nice one coach (ako din coach na tawag ko sa iu ha) full of information.. ako din i want to run fast pero marami pa akong bigas na kakainin..

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

