Heeding an Advice

#01 I have to remember. I am not immortal. My body has a limit.

We all have a limit. Even robots give out. Even motors. What I want to do is stick to a level before that limit. I would have to be more sensitive for the tell-tale signs my body will communicate to me. I shall not miss a thing. I have to be very careful. Running should be fun. The burn-out enters the mind only when it’s not fun anymore. Maybe this is the very reason why ‘breaks’ are created.

#02 To laugh to tomorrow, I need to stay alive today. I will laugh a little today, and will save some for tomorrow?

A bit funny it may seem. But the truth in the statement does echo the candid reality. It’s just one of the many event. It’s an event to test the limit – not to exceed. Carbo load and gear up for the next event. Surviving a good race is ok. Living up for the upcoming ones is better. Do I even make any sense? LOL

#03 I don’t have to do much to accomplish the whole. The big thing can be prepared at using smaller ones.

Over-distance training will no doubt disagree with me. But an event as long as this one will require a smart preparation. A training regimen that is specific, and tested to be effective.

Smart = Effectively trains. No junk miles at all!
Specific = Runs long for the long runs.
Effective = Obvious signs of enjoyment over the work-outs and calculated results of training shows improvement.

#04 I will run forever. So I will do what it takes to stay away from injury. After this race event, I’d consider myself injured and take a lot of rest.

As a rule of thumb, a day for every mile run would be my rest. Really? That’s just funny and very long! LOL

Training for, and competing in another 26.2 mile or longer event before one’s legs have fully recovered can lead to a variety of overuse injuries. Is it worth the risk? Only the body can tell.

I have already practiced a recovery run of only 3 to 6 kms, 2 to 3 days after an ultra at the same week. Works wonders for me. I intend to continue with such practice. Before gradually building-up mileage again.

It’s not everyday that you get some good advice from ‘real’ experts. It’s not everyday that you get some real good information and tip from a true pro. So I heeded.

🙂

4 responses

  1. Thanks sir sa advise! Good luck sa BDM 160 next year! 😀

  2. Hi Coach, I consider ‘junk miles’ as part of the BDM 160 preparation. There will be several times in the race when I have to run very slow and walk often just like doing junk miles. I’m not a gifted runner, so I have to practice being on my feet for 26-28 hrs continuesly if possible. Hehehe.

    1. Wow. That’s a nice perspective. Thanks for the comment. I must say I agree with you.

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

