FOR the BDM 160K

Excited over it. I just received “THE”

Letter of Invitation to the 1st BDM 160

This letter confirms your acceptance and invitation to join and compete in the 1st BDM 160 Ultramarathon Race to be held on February 26-27, 2011.

The registration fee is **** ******** ***** (P *,***.00 ) for the Local Runners and *** ******* ***** ** ******* ($ ***.00) for the Overseas/International runners. Each runner must be able to have his support vehicle; support crew; and pacer. The concept of the race is based from the rules and regulations of the Badwater Ultramarathon where there will be no Aid Stations along the route. Your support vehicle will serve as your “mobile” Aid Station. It will be a personal responsibility of each runner to provide himself/herself with the necessary logistics for the race. Pacer is allowed from Km Post #102 up to the Finish Line as your safety companion during the run.

The race will start at 5:00 AM on Saturday, February 26, 2011 at the Bataan Death March Park’s Km Post #00 in Mariveles, Bataan and with a cut-off time of 28 hours. All runners must be able to check-in at Km Post #102 in 18 hours or else they will not be allowed to continue the race up to Camp O’Donnell. All Finishers of the Race will be expected to arrive at the Finish Line not later than 9:00 AM on Sunday, February 27, 2011. Remember that this is a Road Race and each runner must be extra careful with the prevailing traffic condition along the national highway or roads.

As stated, and after digesting the content, it made me also think. Not that I doubt I can do it – it’s that I cannot afford – LOL – the registration fee! It’s out of the budget, and it’s real near the monthly rent I pay for my whole family!

What I have in mind is to ask then, for Sponsors or Donors to pledge/support at least P 31.25 for one kilometer – and how many kilometers anyone might want to pledge or donate is optional.

I hope that someone or somebody would even buy my reason.

* It’s

the first of its kind in this country for a solo ultramarathon event to commemorate a significant part in the history of mankind and warfare which is the Bataan Death March in April 1942.

* It’s my dream ultra – an ultimate test of one’s endurance – both physical and mental.

* I have prepared for it long before it’s been confirmed.

If I need to, yes, i’d swallow my pride. If it’s worth the shame, I’m willing to take the first step. I do hope that I’d get to beat the deadline for the registration date.

Please do send me an SMS @ 0906-283-60-54, or email me at red_hot_pogito@yahoo.com for pledges, donations, and what-have-yous.

Thanks be to God.

5 responses

  1. We’re pledging to support your 10km 🙂

    1. Thanks, Jamie! Thanks so much!

  2. 10KM pledge from me.

    1. Thanks so Much, Irene!

  3. Let me know kong magkano ang kulang mo. Let’s help each other. Kahit ibigay ko sayo ang BDM160 registration ko.;)

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

