Hard Easy

Last year, March 6 2010, I ran 42 kms plus 60 kms after, for a shirt, trophy and a medal. That’s BDM 102. It was not an easy walk in the park – You have to run, and balance the pacing with walking. Top all the hard leg-workout with the scorching heat of the sun and hard-to-quench thirst. It was not also a hard thing to do. It’s been done. I have. Add 103 more people to that. We endured the same thing. We trod the same path. We faced the same challenge. We survived.

Come the 26th of February, 2011, I will venture into another hard easy long run (or should I say an easy but HARD run?). A continuous marathon. 4 marathons! with 2 kms discount each. LOL

That’s the BDM 160. It’s a rolling 20 kilometer start followed by a never-ending flat of 120 kilometers topped with a rolling hill, again, of 10 kilometers. I can’t pin point now where the challenge will be.

Will it be about the hills?
Will it be about the total distance?
Will it be about the heat of the sun?
Will it be about the cold of the midnight to dawn?
Will it just be about a fight inside my head?
Will it be about me and my pace?
Will it be about the re-hydration and re-fueling trick?
Will it be about it being the first?

I don’t know. What I do know is this:

I will conquer every hill.
I will bare my skin for the sun.
I will cover my back for the cold.
I will stick to my pace plan.
I will exercise good hydration and refueling.
I will not give up.
I will cover the distance and finish the race.
I will beg the LORD to help me.
I will not be afraid.
I will not underestimate.
I will not overestimate too.
I will trust my support.
I will run with all my heart.

I have completed 4 marathons and 4 ultramarathons last year. On this same event, I will do 4 marathons in 30 hours – with the discount!

God Bless Us All!

2 responses

  1. Best of luck to everyone. I know in my heart you can do it coach, as i know i can’t. Stay safe, run strong. Finish with glory.

    1. goodluck coach. take care and god bless… Kaya yan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

