The Haunting

This post took me quite a while.

I wanted an accurate report. To do that, I have to get the records from my support.

But then it’s haunting.

By haunting, I mean:

Why so? Let me recount the story.

25 FEBRUARY 2011

The Team picked me up at home. Lots of bags to bring. After getting through the traffic, we had lunch at Topher’s house. By mid afternoon, we’re at where we are last year.

Same Spot Last Year Before 2nd BDM 102 of 2010

After a couple more hours we are at Villa Imperial. Our choice of place to rest before the big event. The same spot where we are last year too. After the restless afternoon, some chat and dinner, we tried to sleep. I think I barely did. But then I was told I snored. Everybody tells the same story to everybody. LOL

26 FEBRUARY 2011

After an early breakfast, we headed to the starting line. As expected, it’s crowded. Full of smiling faces. Lots of familiar faces. The same family of ultrarunners plus some more brave new warriors. It was a happy morning. Filled with so much fun and excitement. After all, this is the 1st longest ultramarathon in the Philippines.

After the singing of the national anthems, the race started. Everybody was just all smiles. It was a pleasant morning for a gruelling day.

I intend to stick to my race plan of 6 kilometers per hour. But then the team moved faster than expected. Even the first 7K which we agreed to walk became a run/walk already. Took us only 48 minutes for the first 6 kilometers. And it was just a casual jog and never ending walk-conversation along the route.

>>> FIRST 50KMS <<<

There's was just really no struggle for me up to the Km 50 posts. I was able to catch up with the team already resting there @7 hours and 51 minutes. Still a better time compared to last year's.

Wincing and Smiling and Posing at the same time

When all’s ready, we proceeded. That’s after we agreed to walk the whole of the next 10 kilometers. It was too hot and it’s wise to walk. The “ROD WALK”.

>>> NEXT 52 KMS <<<

Vener captured the moment. And Team Ungas was just there too.

>>> THEN SOMETHING HAPPENED <<<

At about KM 66 to KM 70, I got a painful cramps on my lower thighs. Both leg. It was a minor one but it's not comfortable. So SID Apolinario, one the ultraboredsupport volunteered to give it some relief.

I also made the mistake of changing shoes at this point. I later regretted it.

From Supernova Glide to ADIZero F50

The AdiZero F50 ready for battle

Well, for all it’s worth, I was able to catch up on any lost time (and there was none! hic! ~ ) with this shoes.

When the sun disappeared and darkness covered the road, it is also the time I got to get the better of my strength. 🙂

I walked at near KM 90 alongside Jeff. At about the last 8 kilometers, I was just slowly racing alongside Atty Haide. I remember it well when she tagged me along to run the last 5 kilometers to KM 102. I left her and pushed myself at the last 3. Good for me.

But then another mistake.

#1 I stopped @102K, right at a time when I am all fired up and heated to run.
#2 I changed gear. I shouldn’t have. Yes, Im all sweat, but that’s because I’m in heat.
#3 I wasted too much time chatting around. Barely eating. Just throwing smiles at everybody.

Yes, it is a fact that I reached the KM 102 in 17:17. It is indeed a better time than my last year’s 102K finish. But it is not a wise decision to make. I got carried away.

I shouldn’t have stopped. I didn’t eat there anyway. I shouldn’t really have.(THIS, I will remember always – not to repeat next year)

So enter the DOOM. There goes my cold body. The chilly wind got the better of me. I was shaking. Walking and trying hard to run – but can’t. After about 3 kilometers, and finally noticing how I hated it, I stopped to rest. Oh Yeah. ANOTHER BIG BIG Mistake.

#1 I gave in to the cold.
#2 I gave in to the call of sleep.

There. As I lie down and rested in the car, cramps started creeping in. I was shouting in pain. Yes, that’s literally shouting. Not yelling – but shouting.

Then I’m lost. I might have fallen asleep. ANOTHER big big mistake. I could have just taken a nap. Just a nap!

With PACER DAPHNE @Dolores Pampanga Stretch.

Now I looked like a struggling warrior in battle.

With PACER JEROME @KM 127

See the difference in the stride?

I took another 15-minute nap before heading on to the last 25 kms. It was indeed very refreshing. The Jollibee Sopas from Capas still warm to my recall.

I ate at McDonald’s Capas. It was a “pre-munched” spaghetti. I gobbled it down as hard as I can. Then off to the heat of the day.

With PACER JOEY @the Last 6 kilometer stretch.

Last 5 kilometers. The U-turn. Ice Cream and FUN Picture!

It was a gruelling run. The last 5 kilometers is where I felt everything. Tired. Sleepy. In Pain. Limping. It was also in the very last few meters to the finish line that I felt it all all-together.

It was a mixed emotion of everykind. I didn’t cry. I’m done with that. I was just so happy to have been able to complete the course. I might have come late. I may have missed the cut-off, but the experience is all worth it. Such an experience is a deep-well of treasure for me. I was able to conquer myself. I was able to cover the entire route where a lot did not. I was tested to be patient. I was tested to be persistent. I passed the test. I may have been declared an Unofficial Finisher, but I have this:

Finisher SHIRT, Medal and Trophy after 34 hours 5 minutes and 54 seconds

BR himself and my BORED friends

If I’m not proud of what I have, I must be very happy of the friends who waited. Till next year. The crusade for the buckle continues. Back-to-Back-to-Back. (Nonchalant Laugh). 🙂

All thanks and praise to God who was with me all the way. Saint Michael and another angel. 🙂 Glory!

11 responses

  1. Thanks Coach…for being part of this journey…until next year…revenge tayo..hehehehe

  2. kudos! ;-P

  3. Brilliant post, awesome effort!!! 🙂

  4. galing! bawi next year coach! hopefully si Doc Abe matuloy din. 🙂

  5. Congrats coach! Thanks for the very valuable lesson, finish your runs and never give up!

    1. Yes, Mari. Lest you die or you are in a major major injury: stop.

  6. Bawi tayo next year!

  7. Congrats Coach! And thank you for making me a part of this journey. What I witnessed and learned as BDM160K support crew was instrumental during my own BDM102K race. You, Doc T, RodRunner, Gab and Team Boring were truly an inspiration. See you next year!!!

  8. nice. 🙂

  9. congrats coach mar. inspiring. keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

