PAU60K FM2DA

That’s Fort Magsaysay, Palayan City in Nueva Ecija to Dingalan, Aurora Province.

A GLIMPSE of the map would give anybody who’se not there an idea where we ran.

Well, that’s what I thought our route will be. . .and it’s not.

We ran inside FORT Magsaysay, and out to the Highway in LAUR, Nueva Ecija. BY this time, I can feel the heat of the sun already.

Before we started the race, the Team (BORING) made a roll call of runners. We were all asked about our pace so that the crew will know where and what vehicle we shall be using as support.

I initially gave an 8 minutes per kilometer to 8 minutes and 30 seconds. BY the time we were packing the bags and preparing the supplies – it dawned on me that I have to conserve more. I have MILO Marathon in 2 weeks time.

So I shifted. To 9 minutes per kilometer. Which is the safer pace I think. It’s a fast jog – and an injury-free pace, I think.

And this was the route: (Garmin details of RodRunner)

I wish I could recall all the stops with the support crew. But here’s what I have:

First 2K >> 00:13:00.5 > averaging 6:32/k
Kilometer 9.5 >> 1 hour 15 minutes 54 seconds > averaging 7:59/k
Kilometer 13.5 >> 1 hour 47 minutes 07 seconds > averaging 7:56/k
Kilometer 16 >> 2 hours 13 minutes 59 seconds > averaging 8:22/k
Kilometer 20 >> 2 hours 44 minutes 28 seconds > averaging 8:13/k
Kilometer 23.5 >> 3 hours 20 minutes 17 seconds > averaging 8:31/k where I started to feel the heat of the sun.
Kilometer 27 >> 3 hours 53 minutes 33 seconds > averaging 8:39/k
Kilometer 32 >> 4 hours 41 minutes 40 seconds > Where I ate adobong chicken and rice. > averaging 8:48/k
Kilometer 36.5 >> 5 hours 48 minutes 14 seconds > lots of walking here. > averaging 9:32/k
Kilometer 45 >> 7 hours 17 seconds 42 seconds > averaging 9:43/k
Last 15.5K >> 3:09:21 > the rolling hills (mountain) was majestic in sight. I power-walked going-up and then glide going-down. ignoring the pains – praying instead to the good Lord our God to take away my pains and for Him to lend me His strength for a strong finish.

The last 15.5K average a 12 minute and 12 seconds per kilometer. It really is too slow going up…compensated in part whenever there’s a part that’s going down.

The race was generally nice. The route is excellent, I think. It’s not just challenging, it’s really the best view so far! The air and the wind is just so clean.

The medal is so nice.

Thanks to JUNROX, the 2nd Placer!

…AND EVERYBODY IS JUST ALL SMILES after. πŸ™‚

Thanks be to GOD. All glory and honor to Him who loves us all!

Special thanks to the support crew for being God’s hand in our time of need. πŸ™‚

(in order of place in the picture above from left to right)

Leo Tugade
Ronalyn Provido
Cindy Sevilla
Shiina Estoesta
Marcos Lontoc
May Angela Pelayo
and
Aeriane Dizon.

God Bless these people.

7 responses

  1. your most welcome coach! it is an honor to be a part of team boring’s support crew. congratulations on finishing the race. another feather on you illustrious ultramarathon career. truly an idol to me.

  2. Congrats Master Mar!

    When we passed the first 13K, I told myself “There is more coming, these are no ordinary hills”, you can even hear the engines on full throttle hahaha. The final 10K was quite a surprise, I thought I pulled all the strings and have a 9min pace for a decent finish but KM 56-59 changed all that, stabbing just those 3 short downhills and unable to execute any power walks on my way up. Just like JP said, this is far more difficult than BDM.. I’m not whining or something hehehe, its just my way of saying that my Php900 was all worth it because those smiles at the finishline are like the free flowing water of Dingalan from the top that makes us feel so rejuvenated πŸ™‚

    Superb route, breath taking scenery, less traffic, scorching heat and incredible support teams/friends like one big family.

    I can consider this as Sir Jovie’s creme de la creme by far… πŸ™‚

    1. Oh yeah. I really think that this route is far more difficult than Tanay, and BDM. πŸ™‚

      Add to that the heat! LOL

      Congrats still for a job well done!

  3. i have the runners’ time from my crew if you wanna see it πŸ˜€ congrats! good decision to conserve..better to finish steady and strong within the time and be able to run another in two weeks time πŸ™‚ see ya!

    1. Thanks Cindz. I’d like to see that! πŸ™‚

  4. The heat, the hills and the agonizing pain were all worth it. Congrats sir and recover well! See you in Milo!

    1. Yup! See you in MILO! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

