How I’d run my Fat Ass

January 07 to 08, 2012 is FAT-Ass Day.

I was able to join the event last year and was eager to join again this year.

Lucky for those who will be doing the 102. This year’s Fat-Ass event have a 36 hour category aside from the usual 24-12 and 6.

For this year, I registered only for the 12-hour event. Last year was 24 hours. The date is too close for the big event I am preparing for. I need to be very cautious. I’d rather extend the distance and time of running when and after accomplishing the 12-hour/72K plan.

Yes. That’s my plan. That would be my idea of a good training come this weekend.

..and I intend to stick to it. WHY? Because that’s the purpose of my run. To get a good training run – something that could simulate the big event in terms of:

  • PACING
  • REST
  • HYDRATION
  • MEALS
  • BREAKS and STOPS

How am I to do just that? Here:

#01 NO overspeeding.ย  This is a very long run. Doing TEMPO is not the way to do it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Easy/Long Run pace is the right pace. N.B.: my easy pace is relative.

#02 DO Moderate stops and walk breaks only. I should be simulating a maximum of 10 minutes per KM only. Rest/Break included.

#03 WEAR Full battle gear.ย  Since I will be starting (hopefully BEFORE) sunrise, I’d be preparing for a hot run. That means light and white for me. Light for the skin to breath. White to repel the sun’s scorching and heating effect. N.B.: always prepare for the changing weather. If it rains – I’d have a set ready for that too.

#04 IDEALLY first 10K / 5 loops continuous. Succeeding 3 loops or 5K is followed by Hydration Stops. Meals follow depending on the call of nature. ๐Ÿ™‚ Why EAT when you’re not hungry?

#05 Careful MONITORING of Hydration. This I know well. But I must do it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope my readers get the idea.

Running is also about knowing what to do – all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses

  1. Nice plan and nice new look at your blog, Coach Mar! Good luck and God Bless in your Fat-Ass Run this January!

    1. Thanks, Rejie! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. plan’s looking good, coach! good luck to us! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. nice coach! goodluck to all of us ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

