FEATURED ULTRARUNNER #9

CAMILO R. PARAN JR.

My very first race:

I ran my first 5KM during the Globe Run For Home last March 21, 2010 with the time of  33 minutes. It was my curiosity that drives me to join this race.

My Best time in a marathon:

Manila International Marathon; Official time: 04:39:22

(Kulang daw yung distance pero Personal Record pa rin compare sa first Marathon ko na 4:55:12)

Running Statistics – Marathon vs Ultra: 3-6

3 Marathons:

  1. Condura Skyway Marathons (Feb 2011)
  2. Milo Elims Marathon (July 2011)
  3. Manila International Marathon (Sept 2011)

6 ultramarathons:

  1. PAU 60K Fort Magsaysay Ultra Marathon Challenge
  2. PAU 65K Western Pangasinan Ultra Run
  3. 2nd PAU 50K T2N Run
  4. Fatass 2012 24-hours category (101KM)
  5. 4th BDM102K (2012).
  6. Mayon 360 80KM

The reason why I run:

I started running 2 years ago. I was a volleyball player back then, and during my cross-training days, my gym mate invited me to join a fun run dubbed as RUN FOR HOME 2010. I was encouraged, and decided to join to support the project for humanity. It was then that I decided to be involved in running, for self achievements and also for a healthy lifestyle. It is also a fulfillment for me every time I finish a race. In running, I was able to meet people with common interests but with different profession. The friendship and camaraderie in this small community puts it to the top of my list.

In your opinion, what’s the big difference between Marathon and a 50K ultra in terms of Preparation and Actual Racing?

There isn’t much difference between preparing for a marathon and a 50K ultra marathon. I try to do 40-60km/week (sometimes higher than 60KM) in distance of running for both races to build my endurance.  Though for marathons, I might include some speed training, interval and tempo runs with rest day in between.  For ultra marathon, I try to do back to back LSD runs or 2 consecutive days of running before resting. It helps my muscles get used to fatigue. Just like what I did before I run my first 60KM Ultra Marathon in Fort Magsaysay last July 2011.

During my trainings, I do 60KM run like the C-loop Challenge. I run in different types of weather conditions and different kinds of terrain. Most of the time, I train alone even in the middle of the night.

In Ultra marathons, speed is not a necessity that is why I train at my comfortable pace. Power walk (known within Team Boring as the ROD WALK) is also a part of my training.

During the actual race, I find full marathons to be in a controlled environment though I’m not looking at it to be easier than an ultra marathon. There are kilometer markers on the route, well-wishers around, marshals/traffic enforcers to guide runners, you have a lot of runner all around that can help/pace with you during the race and of course, water/aid stations every 2-3 km.

For me, ultra marathon is more of a mental game/race since there are factors you have to take into consideration like support crew stops, hydration and nutritional intake. You also have to focus and be aware of the incoming traffic if it’s on a road. During my run in ultra marathon I always focus on my pace and never get affected on who is the strongest runner in front of me. Mind setting is what I do to help me finish the race within the cut-off time even if I am the last runner.

Everybody has their own opinion but for me, ultra marathon composing of about 10-20% of the total participants of full marathons, the friendship and camaraderie in this small community is what matters most.

What is your most memorable race, and why?

The most memorable race for me was the 2012 edition of Bataan Death March – 102K Ultra marathon, after supporting Coach Mar on his Bataan 160K from the previous year. My ultimate goal was to be able to finish the BDM102 with the shortest time possible. I trained hard and gave all my efforts for this event, that’s why I got very emotional after finishing the race in a well deserved 40th place with a time of 15 hours. For me, it was definitely a test of ones strength, capability and will to finish the race. It was also a race that I had full support from MAYOR CJ TEAM (COACH MAR, DOC TOTO, THEI SANGRADOR, HUGO TANDO, KUYA THE DRIVER). Well, the BDM 102 is a self achievement for me and something I am very proud of, but now I am aiming for the BDM 160K edition.

never mind the boy at the background

the afternoon prior to the race

@KM 72 if Im not mistaken

Satisfied and Happy

Mayor CJ Team

7 Most recent races:

  1. 01.07.12 Fat Ass 24hr Category – 101K
  2. 03.03.12 4th Bataan Death March Ultramarathon – 102K
  3. 04.21.12 Mayon360 – 80K
  4. 04.29.12 Hyundai: Run For A Cause – 10K
  5. 06.17.12 RUN UNITED 2012 – 21K
  6. 06.30.12 ANR FUN RUN 2012 -5K
  7. 07.01.12 PATAFA ROAD RACE (21K)

Team Affiliation:

One of ANR MOA’s pansit session

Team Moa

Team Boring

Team Breathe Hope

I have only a few words for this guy.

  • Very patient
  • Very cool
  • Very compassionate

..and that is just as a person. I have known CJ for quite some time now. He has so much passion for running.

I think this is the first day I met them @ANR MOA

Long run to Tagaytay

Starting Point @ Dasmarinas

Taught them some things @ Vito Cruz PSC Oval

Long Run from MOA to Cavite City

Special Session @ CCP: Taught them some things.

Special Session @ ULTRA: Taught them some things..

My LONE pacer from KM 102 to KM 150 @BDM 160K 2012
(imagine the patience and the strength of this guy)

Train Buddy last Mayon 360 50-miler: Chance passenger able to secure a ticket on a fully booked trip back to Manila.

and yes, he trains so hard it shows on his BDM 102K finish time.

A salute to a great guy!

🙂

2 responses

  1. Thanks Coach Mar…..Kayo naman talaga ang Idol ko…

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

The wANNEderess

Saving myself from the world one adventure at a time

